Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 3 Jan 2022 - 10 Jan 2022
  • 1 week
What we need
  • Dogs (2), Cats (2), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (10+), Farm Animals (2), Horses (3)
  • Minimal
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • Yes
  • No
  • No

We need a house sitter

Nelson / Marlborough - Tasman

Sue

Hi there,
We live on 10 acres in a beautiful no exit valley, 3km from Wakefield township, 14km from Richmond and about a 30 minute drive from Nelson city. In driving distance of between 30min to 1 hour you get access to some of the most gorgeous beaches, walking tracks, biking trails and rivers, not to mention vineyards and amazing eateries.

We have a 3 bedroom / 2 bathroom farm house that is very comfortable (Plus a single sleep out with gorgeous view), there is a lovely log fire for the cooler evenings if required. We even have an outdoor bath for those lovely Summer evenings under the stars. You will be required to care for 3 horses, this may involve picking up horse manure (most likely not) and hard feeding them, depending on the grass etc at that time of the year. We also have 2 cows that need to be checked daily, 15 ducks, 15 chickens and two kelpie dogs and two cats. It is a beautiful sunny spot with lovely deck where you can sit and listen to the birds, read a book and contemplate life. It would be great to have somebody with some equestrian experience, as I will only have a morning to spend giving instructions. Our dogs are the working dog kelpie. so a medium size breed, they are very cuddly and love a walk, however we have marked no pets as they can be territorial on their own land, we could be negotiable around your bringing a pet if they get on. Please reply with an indication of your experience around animals (mainly horses).

At the back of our house we have a gate that goes into the Forest, where you can ride/walk/bike for miles, the track is about 2.5km return to the top of the hill and is sheltered and quiet.

My mother lives next door through a double carport- two houses are joined under the one roof line, but she is 100% separate to us, And will be away at the same time as us for this trip.

We grow most of our own fruit and vegetables, it's so lovely to be able to pick your own. We will require you to water the vegetable gardens every couple of days but this is not a huge job and can be done early morning or late evening, and is on a timer, so not manually..

Our house is lovely and sunny, north facing, we have two fires a coal range that you can cook on, this also heats the water for an outside bath, just divine to sit and watch the stars. We also have a log fire in the main lounge with a heat transfer system, and all beds have electric blankets and feather duvets etc.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Sue, Rob, Mya and Ruben

House & Location
  • Farm House
  • Internet, Wifi, Netflix, Garage/Carport, BBQ, Air conditioner, Heater, Dishwasher
  • No
  • Country, Bush/Forest, River/Lake, Mountains, Snow (Shopping, Sport, Nature, Quiet, Family, Conservative, Historical)
  • Buses, Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Lawn Bowls, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Cinema, Parks, Beach, Art/Theatre, Live Music, Fishing/Boating
Reviews (4)
A big thank you to Sue and Rob for entrusting me with your loved ones ... Ru and Fern, Ginger and Ninja, Milly, Magnus, Elly and Blue, all the chooks and all the ducks are all so pleasurable to be with and care for - what a wonderful experience in such a beautiful part of the world! The dossier was a fantastic idea and any communication needed beyond this was greatly appreciated. Having a network of helpful friends and neighbours to call on if need be was such a bonus for a person who's not ... MORE
 
LISA (Dec 2020 - 2 weeks 4 days)
It was a pleasure to look after Sue and Rob's beautiful property, as well as their four-legged furry and two-legged feathered friends, in lovely Wakefield. Their home was cozy and comfortable, the animals were friendly (and amusing), and the gardens and orchard provided us with countless healthy goodies during our 3 1/2 week stay. We would be delighted to sit for this wonderful family in the future, should the opportunity arise.
 
CHERYL (Dec 2019 - 3 weeks)
Sue and family were great to sit for. The animals were fantastic, the 2 dogs especially. It was great to meet Loraine and I hope that the recent fires in the region have not affected this family too much. Highly recommend to future sitters.
 
TERRY ( TERENCE) (Jan 2019 - 2 days)
Amazing place, family, animals, house...everything is just incredibly awesome. All family members are wonderful and generous people, who keep the home tidy and full of love! I had a chance to stay with them few more days and almost couldn't leave them, we've been everyday busy with so many activities, fun and work. It's a paradise to housesit for this family, you will enjoy so clever and playful dogs, beautiful horses, funny dugs, always running away rabbits, chicken offering you everyday fresh ... MORE
 
LINDA (Jan 2019 - 4 days)
 
Live Rent Free

Zero rent

Our members are currently saving thousands every year. It's happening right now. Join in and start saving.

Feefo badge