Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 24 Dec 2021* - 31 Dec 2021* (*Approx)
  • 1 week
What we need
  • Cats (3), Chickens/Ducks/Geese (4)
  • Average
Sit Features
  • Yes
  • No
  • No

We need a house sitter

Nelson / Marlborough - Marlborough

Lynne

Hi there,

Would you like to spend Christmas in delightful Picton? I'm looking for a trustworthy, caring, clean person to look after my home while I'm away.

I have a lovely, large and comfortable home with 3 cats, 3 chickens, a worm farm and a beehive. it's only a 15 min walk into Picton township along the river, marina, and great cafes. Only 5 mins drive to the Wellington ferries, 25 mins to Blenheim and beautiful wineries, and just 5 mins from the Queen Charlotte drive and Link pathway.

The cats love someone to play with. They have an electronic door that lets them get in and out as they need, and they graze on dry food, so they just need their breakfast each morning and fresh water every few days.

The worms only need feeding if the sit is over a week. I'll leave a list of what to feed them. It's important to only feed them certain foods - some people have fed them incorrect food and it's started to rot which can harm the worms.

In summer, sone of the the indoor & outdoor plants need watering. But in winter or if it's raining a lot, all plants only need weekly watering.

I'd prefer someone who has some experience with animals, house-sitting, and taking care of gardens. Some common sense is necessary. I've had people not watering (dead plants on return) so following my instructions is really important.

I have unlimited WIFI, a large TV for Amazong Prime, Netflix, TVNZ on Demand, and lots of books.

Depending on the time of year and if it's a long stay, there might be some weeding, lawn-mowing, or other small garden jobs. I can let you know what at the time.

If this sounds good to you, please message me. Thanks, I look forward to hearing from you!

Thanks,
Lynne

House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Netflix, Heater, Dishwasher
  • No
  • Suburban, Coastal, Country, Bush/Forest, River/Lake, Island (Shopping, Sport, Nature, Quiet, Family, Historical)
  • Supermarket, Shopping Centre, Golf, Lawn Bowls, Gym/Yoga, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Cinema, Parks, Beach, Art/Theatre, Live Music, Fishing/Boating
Reviews (8)
Lynne is a warm, friendly and delightful person. She has everything well maintained and in order, which makes sitting at her place very easy. The cats are charming, although one of them won't be seen much if you're on a short sit, because he's shy. And the chickens are so soothing! It was a really wonderful experience and we would definitely sit here again.
 
NICOLE (Mar 2020 - 4 days)
Lynne was very kind to us from the first day, her house is beautiful, cozy and warm in winter, it also has a very nice garden. The communication was always very fluid and the instructions clear and organized. The cats are very calm and independent, Gabbie is the queen of the house and a very companion, the boys are more shy but friendly, with Loki we were able to become very close friends :) We highly recommend looking after this house, and we are grateful to Lynne for everything. ... MORE
 
MELISA (Jul 2020 - 1 week)
I spent approximately a week at Lynne's house looking after her three cats: Casper, Gabbie and Loki, six chickens and worms. I highly recommend this house sit. All the animals are lovely, and Lynne was very easy to communicate with, leaving a document with clear instructions and responding quickly to any queries I had. Lynne also very kindly picked me up from the ferry terminal and gave me a lift to my next destination. Lynne's home is large and spacious and has a beautiful garden. The plant ... MORE
 
OLIVE (Nov 2019 - 8 days)
Lynne has a lovely house and garden. It was easy to care for her cats and chickens especially with her clear instructions, and quick responses to my questions. I would highly recommend to other house sitters and would return again.
 
JENNIFER (Aug 2019 - 1 week 3 days)
Thanks so much Jennifer, I'd love to see you back in New Zealand sometime!
We had an amazing time housesitting/pet caring for Lynne. There was an abundance of fruit collected from the garden. All 3 cats were healthy and loved their food. Two cats were very friendly and the third was becoming less timid by the time we left. Communication and information was excellent throughout. Loved the house and the peaceful garden setting. Beautiful weather.
 
ROSIE AND ROSS (May 2019 - 5 days)
We house sit for Lynne in her arty and comfortable 1930's home for four days around Christmas. A suburban peaceful and private environment suited to garden lovers. That it rained all Christmas day helped a lot with watering. Lynne has three cats with different personalities: Casper, Loki and Gabby, 6 chickens and a worm farm. They were a delight to be with especially the cats but the worms didn't need us.
 
CHERLLISHA AND DANILO (Dec 2018 - 4 days)
No rating We looked after Lynne's two lovely cats Gabbie and Casper for nearly two weeks in Picton. The cats were both very friendly and easy to look after. Thanks Lynne for having us in your beautiful home. We enjoyed being so close to the town and some beautiful walks. One of our favourite places in New Zealand so far.
GARETH AND ALICE (Aug 2017 - 1 week 4 days)
No rating We recently cared for Lynne's 2 delightful kittens and her very comfortable home in Picton. Lynne left us excellent instructions relating to the kittens care which made our stay straightforward. We enjoyed sitting on the sunny deck watching the kittens playing in the tree. Lynnes's home is close to town and the many delights of Picton, cafes, shopping, museums walks and exploring the magnificent Sounds area. We can thoroughly recommend housesitting for Lynne,
ALAN (Mar 2017 - 3 days)
 
Save Money

Save Money

Save for your house, take a study break or finally write that screenplay. Make it happen here.

Feefo badge