Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 26 Mar 2022 - 30 Mar 2022
  • 4 days
What we need
  • Dogs (2), Cats (2), Fish (10+), Farm Animals (2)
  • No

We need a house sitter

Wellington - Kapiti Coast

Angela

We are looking for a house sitter to look after our two dogs (Bee and May), two cats (Castor, and Pollux), two goats and tropical fish while we are away for a long weekend.

We live on a beautiful rural lifestyle block tucked away at the foot of the Tararua Ranges. The property is mostly bush that you are welcome to explore, or just admire from our deck. It's incredibly peaceful and secluded. We often come across wild deer hanging out on our driveway, even though we are only 15 minutes from Waikanae Township and regular train services to Wellington.

Our three bedroom home (master plus 2 singles) is spacious and warm with a heatpump and fireplace. We have a well stocked boardgame cupboard and a spa pool tucked away in the bush that you are welcome to make use of. We have Wifi and Netflix/Amazon TV/Disney+ and the internet is good enough to be able to work from home etc. Cellphone coverage can be a little patchy (Vodafone is good, but there's no Spark or 2 Degrees coverage at the house).

Castor and Pollux are very low maintenance cats - as long as there is food in their bowl they are happy. You may not even see Castor - he goes on multi-day adventures so isn't always around the house.

Our dog Bee (a very good natured pitty-cross) requires regular medication which she is happy to take. She is very well behaved inside and knows the rules (no dogs on the furniture, in the kitchen, or upstairs). She is on low exercise, as she has had 2 knee ops in the last couple of years. The 'puppy' May is about 3 years old, and is full of beans. She loves going for walks and playing with her best friend Bee. As May can be a bit boisterous when excited, she may not be an ideal match if you have little kids - ours are 11 and 13, so she hasn't had much experience with littlies.

The dogs sleep inside in their crates each night, and the cats (naturally) sleep wherever they want, often on our bed :-) The dogs have a nice big enclosure where they spend their time when no one is home and they can't be inside with us. May ideally needs walking each day to get her energy out.

We have two goats on our property (Jim, and Goaty Goat) but they pretty much look after themselves so shouldn't need any extra care from you, other than a daily check to make sure Goaty Goat is still where she should be. She comes when called, so is easy to put back in the paddocks if needed, We'll let you know if they need supplementary feeding at the time.

We also have a few tropical fish but we can set up an automatic feeder for them so you shouldn't need to do anything.

Please contact me if you think you would like to spend some time hanging out with our menagerie.

House & Location
  • Farm House
  • External
    There is one security camera down by our shed, The house/spa areas are not covered by the camera.
Reviews (3)
Beautiful home in a really amazing setting in the bush. The 2 dogs were very loving and fun. We only met 2 of the 3 cats but they were great too - Pollux gave us a good laugh and lots of cuddles. Great communication and organisation, very clear instructions. Thanks for having us!
 
LAURA (Nov 2019 - 3 days)
Beautiful home in idyllic semi-rural/bush setting, good for the soul for those that enjoy getting away from the big smoke. About a 15 minute drive or 30-ish minute bike ride to Waikanae. The house was very comfortable and clean, and had access to all of the mod-cons (apart from 2Degrees phone coverage - apparently Vodafone phone coverage is fine). Instructions were very clear and reasonable. The animals were easy to look after, the goats and cats were no bother and pretty much looked after ... MORE
 
SIMON (Feb 2021 - 1 week)
I had a lovely time watching Bee, May, Castor and Pollux for a weekend. Their home is located in a beautiful, quiet area surrounded by lush forests and farmland. The dogs are very sweet and affectionate - whether we were out for a walk, or just lounging at home, they loved to be by my side. The cats are also very lovely and I had some great snuggles with them both. Communication was easy and I was left with detailed notes and instructions. Great housesitting experience!
 
TEGHAN (Feb 2020 - 2 days)
 
Travel Rent Free

Travel on a shoestring

House sitting is a fun, immersive way to experience this magnificent country - without paying a cent for accommodation!

Feefo badge