Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand
 
 
Close

JOIN NOW to enable contact

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Dates
  • 2 Feb 2022 - 8 Feb 2022
  • 6 days
What we need
  • Birds (1)
  • Minimal
Sit Features
  • No
  • No

We need a house sitter

Canterbury - Waimakariri

Zina

We're a young couple living in Sovereign Palms, Kaiapoi with our bird, Ernie. We're doing some domestic travel in February and need someone to take care of our guy.

Ernie is a flighted indoor Quaker parrot, so we need someone who has experience with small to medium sized birds and is comfortable with handling them. You will need to let him out a wee bit to fly round the house each day, understand that he does make noise and has a BIG personality.

We do have quite a bit of planting outside but don't expect that to be weeded or trimmed, and don't expect lawns to be mowed, aside from that, we have some house plants that would need a quick water once every few days.

The house is 2015 build with double glazing, a couple of heat pumps, a dryer, a fire, several TVs and an xbox one (plus your usual chattels). There is a queen sized bed in the room, a desk with a monitor in the lounge, an office and a room for the bird. It's easy to keep clean and tidy. It has a great outdoor area to relax at the end of the day, or bath if that's more your thing.

If you're not sure of the area, Kaiapoi/Sovereign Palms is North Canterbury, it will take 20mins to reach Christchurch in minimal traffic and longer in peak times, but there is a township with a couple of supermarkets and plenty of eateries in Kaiapoi itself.

Please only reach out if you have experience with birds. Whilst I know it is tempting to "learn on the job", birds can be very temperamental and it's important that the person looking after Ernie has experience with that.

House & Location
  • House
  • Internet, Wifi, Netflix, Garage, BBQ, Air conditioner, Heater, Dishwasher, Street parking
  • River/Lake (Quiet)
  • Buses, Supermarket, Golf, Restaurants/Cafes, Pubs/Bars, Parks, Beach
Reviews (1)
We had a wonderful stay with Ernie! Thank you, Zina and James, for selecting us and welcoming us into your lovely home. Ernie is a very good bird - smart, curious, and playful. We had regular, daily interactions with him and he adapted well to us and the routine we established while his people were away. James and Zina have a lovely modern home with all mod-cons located in a quiet suburb about 20-30 minutes from Christchurch. We had a car, which is very convenient, but there was a bus ... MORE
 
MICHELE AND BLAIR (Nov 2019 - 3 weeks)
 
Live Rent Free

Zero rent

Our members are currently saving thousands every year. It's happening right now. Join in and start saving.

Feefo badge