Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Gold (24mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in New Zealand

Trust us to care for your pets

66, Retired Police Officer/Day Trader

40s, Self Employed Day Trader

I am 66 years old and recently retired from NZ Police after nearly 20 years active service in my hometown of Wanganui. I am at a time in my life where I can travel freely and look forward to having new experiences in different countries. I have a new career which is day trading and this enables me to live and work in different countries. I have rented properties since mid 2015 and have always looked after these properties as if they were my own. I look forward to staying in peoples homes and would look after both their homes and pets as if they were my own.
INTERESTS: My hobbies are trawling through second hand shops looking for things to add to my different collections of small blue and white china. I also love fabric and my favourite possession is my turquoise pushbike (looks old school but is brand new). I also enjoy gardening and have recently taken up embroidery. I am double vaxxed and had a booster shot.

Pete is in his 40's and I have known him for about 30 years. We both worked as Posties and just became good friends and he has lived with me as a flatmate on and off for about 20 years. He is very easy going, the most honest person I know, he is loyal and caring, he is really excellent with pets and he also has greenkeeping experience and building experience and is a professional day trader.
INTERESTS: Petes main interests are fitness related, gym and martial arts. He loves travel and has been to Hong Kong many times which is where he met his partner ChiChi and they have been together for about 5 years. Pete is double vaxxed and has had a booster shot.

ChiChi is lovely, she has travelled quite a bit before we knew her. She is very bright and has previously worked in restaurant management and the fitness industry. She is a Hong Kong Muay Thai champion and loves animals and has several tattoos of animals on her arm.She speaks 4 languages and is currently learning day trading.
INTERESTS: Chichis current hobby is calligraphy and she also spends a lot of time at the gym. At this point in time Chichi is in Hong Kong and unable to travel with us.


Why we want to house sit
House sitting is an excellent way to experience life in other countries. Pete and I have had numerous pets over the years and we enjoy the company of dogs and cats specifically, although we are more than happy to look after any pets. We are very trustworthy and can be relied upon to respect other peoples property and will provide peace of mind as house/pet owners leave us in charge. We are non smokers. We both enjoy looking after the lawns and gardens of the homes we stay at.

Our Experience
We have been house/pet sitting since September 2018. We have completed 26 house sits in Canada, Australia and New Zealand and have looked after multi million dollar houses to small cottages. We have had sits ranging from 1 week to 4 1/2 months.
We have so far looked after dogs ,from tiny chihuahuas, to huge Bernese mountain dogs. Cats, birds, chooks, tropical fish, outside koi, goldfish, guinea pigs and a worm farm. All the pets have been great and we become attached very quickly.
We keep in touch with the owners by way of whatsapp and we send updates and photos during our stay.
We have made lifelong friends with several of the house owners and still keep in touch.

With Kiwi Housesitter site since Feb 2020, we now have 15 excellent reviews with this site and we have 6 excellent reviews on Trusted Housesitters site, 3 from Aussie House Sitters and 2 from Mindahome Australia. I will attach the other reviews to our applications.

Reviews (16)
Cathy and Pete looked after our 2 dogs and home for 3 months over Feb/Mar/April/May 2022. They are fantastic house sitters. They went above and beyond in every area and we could not have wished for more from house sitters. They adored our dogs and gave them so much love and attention. They took care of their medical needs by booking vet's appointments ahead when prescriptions were about to run out, walked them all the time and sent photos so we could see them. We knew they were being ... MORE
 
DEB (Wanaka South Island, Feb 2022 - 3 months 1 week)
Honestly I can not speak highly enough of Cathy and Pete! They were absolutely amazing! The place was immaculate when we got home! Like I had spent days cleaning before they came (I have two young kids) but it was even tidier when we got home. Like even the walls cleaned and wiped down. Our dogs have had more walks and attention then they were used to it and it was glorious! They were so happy. They showed true affection for both Bella and Taz and even messaged a few weeks later the day Bella ... MORE
 
CARLA (Feilding North Island, Jan 2022 - 3 weeks)
I don't know where to start with Cathy and Pete... absolutely lovely people, great communication, very house proud and even got some gardening done, that was a nice surprise. Made our trip away so relaxing. Thanks Cathy and Pete for being so loving and caring to our furbabies that are alot of work but you guys rocked xoxoxo cuddles from Marley, Kaya and futtles
 
ROCHELLE (Levin North Island, Jul 2021 - 1 week)
Cathy and Pete did a great job. The house was immaculate. They left kindling chopped for the fire. The dog was happy. It was all great to come home to.
 
SHIRLEY (Brooklands North Island, May 2021 - 1 week 2 days)
We were very happy with Cathy and Pete as our house/pet sitters, while we spent a month touring the South Island. Our elderly 13 year old boxer Lucy, who is deaf and has a few health issues was well looked after. Cathy sent us regular updates, photos and video clips of Lucy enjoying life. As Lucy is use to having us home with her all day, it was a bonus that both Cathy and Pete worked from home. It was lovely to come home to a clean tidy home, lawns mowed and gardens well cared for. We would ... MORE
 
LINDA (Levin North Island, Apr 2021 - 4 weeks)
Wow we really hit the housesitter jackpot with Cathy and Pete! If you're looking for someone who will take the best care of your house and pets while you're away, look no further! Communication was excellent, they were in touch constantly and sent photos and updates on the pets all the time. When we got home the house was perfectly tidy and clean and our bed was already changed with fresh bedding ready for us to sleep in. Cathy even went the extra mile and sorted my laundry left from the ... MORE
 
AMANDA (Highlands Park North Island, Apr 2021 - 1 week 2 days)
Cathy and Pete were great sitters. They communicated really well, and were really reliable about replying and showing up when they said they would. I had no concerns about the animals, and the house was fabulously clean when I returned. It made life really easy when quickly prepping the guest room for air bnb guests who arrived later that day. I'm really happy to highly recommend Cathy and Pete for future sits.
 
SHANNON (Featherston North Island, Apr 2021 - 4 days)
Couldn't have asked for better! House in immaculate condition on returning, very happy chilled animals. Great communication, highly recommend Cathy and Pete, they are the best!!
 
ANNA (Fitzherbert North Island, Feb 2021 - 2 weeks 1 day)
Cathy and Pete just completed a house sit for us. They were awesome sitters, came home to an immaculate house and garden and Vida our cat well cared for. Would highly recommend them to any future host. Thanks you so much Cathy and Pete.
 
ENID (Taupo North Island, Dec 2020 - 6 weeks)
My elderly dog Jack was very well looked after. Very pleasant people.
 
SHIRLEY (Waikanae North Island, Nov 2020 - 3 weeks)
Thank you Cathy and Pete for looking after Hector and Sammy so well and going the extra mile especially with the gardening. All the best with your traveling and trading adventures.
 
KATHERINE (Lower Vogeltown North Island, Oct 2020 - 6 days)
Kathy and Pete did a great job looking after our girls and house They had a few curve balls whilst staying at ours but took in their stride Would certainly recommend them to others and will certainly use them again in the future
 
JUDY (Takaro North Island, Sep 2020 - 10 days)
Kathy and pete are absolutely fantastic. They truly took great care of my 2 rather large dogs plus the cats and Gardens and the house. I completely recommend these two people. Your house and pets will definitely get well cared for.
 
KELLY (Wanganui East North Island, Sep 2020 - 2 weeks)
Cathy and Pete were awesome. Couldn't have asked for better. I left for the weekend with peace of mind that my big dogs would be loved and cared for. Great communication pre sit and during sit. Thanks so much to Cathy and Pete. Would thoroughly recommend them.
 
ANNA (College Estate North Island, Jun 2020 - 3 days)
Excellent all round. Would recommend 100% no question. Pets very happy and house in clean and tidy state. Thanks for all the updates also whilst we were away. Perfect sitter.
 
LEE (Waikanae Beach North Island, Feb 2020 - 13 days)
Cathy and a Pete took great care of our house and cat. They are reliable, trustworthy, friendly, caring people and we would definitely invite them back in the future, and highly recommend them to others.
 
KATHY (Lower Vogeltown North Island, Feb 2020 - 3 weeks)
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge