Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals
  • Yes
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in New Zealand
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Jan
    Feb
    Mar
    Apr
    May
    Jun
  • 2022: 3Jan-23Mar | 28Mar-11Apr | 30Jun-1Sep 2021: 30Dec-2Jan2022 | 2022: 24Mar-27Mar | 12Apr-26Apr
  • On a house-sit right now

Rural or Town Sitter

67, Retired

I have embarked on a new lifestyle and aim to get to see our incredible country again. I have invested in a mobile home which I am now living in, plus I hope to return to regular house sitting (as I have done in the past). Initially in the upper North Island, but later covering all of New Zealand, including the South Island. If you are considering a trip away in 2022, please get in touch. I am currently based in the Whangarei area, but prepared to travel, depending upon the length of a sit.

While I am particularly interested in long term arrangements, I will consider short sits (even a weekend) if I am available now or very soon, otherwise short sits best suit me when I have a gap between booked sits. I will also consider "caretaker" type roles.

Guaranteed to take exceptional care of your property, pets and other animals. I've completed many house/farm sits over the past nine years, and loved looking after an assortment of pets and animals. I will also keep in regular contact with you while you are away.

I'm a very honest, trustworthy, respectful, responsible and house-proud man. Non-smoker. I'm quite at home living in rural areas - yes, I come equipped with gumboots, raincoat and rural common-sense, having grown up on a farm in Hawke's Bay. I am a qualified horticulturist, plus have an environmental management degree..

I live alone, though my Auckland based partner (of 10 years) will join me on occasional weekends - so I trust you will be happy for this. By the time Auckland's border reopens in mid-December, it will have been a very long 4 months totally apart!

I can be depended on to keep your home and property in excellent order, as if it was my own. On your return, your home will be clean and tidy, as you left it. I owned my own rural home until 9 years ago.

I adore pets, and they adore me: I will take excellent care of your pets and other animals. Dog walking is no problem (provided your dog/s are under good control) - I love walking myself. I've had my own pets nearly all of my life, but now happy to care for your pets as if they were my own. Pets must be able to be left alone for at least part of the day.

My preference is for your home to be tidy (no need for a palace), and it is essential your home is warm during winter, and be clean. Access to either broadband or excellent mobile data coverage is essential.

Don't worry if your property is not suitable for a mobile home to park up; I also have a car, which I will mostly use whilst house sitting.

I am fully Covid-19 vaccinated, and I hope all eligible people in your household will be also.

I have excellent references available, and are happy for police vetting, if required.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Reviews (6)
No rating Colin was an incredible house sitter. He looked after our house and our three cats so beautifully. We had lots of great contact with him while we were away and we came home to an immaculate house. We would certainly be very happy to have him house sit for us again.
LIZ (Te Wahapu, Russell , Jan 2018)
Colin looked after my property/house & did a great job. Colin was excellent with all communication & also went out of his way to stay a extra night, which really helped me out. Colin was very good with looking after animals, and left the house clean and tidy. Colin was friendly & easy to get along with & I'd definitely have Colin stay again.
 
GLEN (Mangonui North Island, Dec 2021 - 6 days)
Colin took great care of our coastal property and home. The dogs, cats and hens are happy . The lawns have been mowed and everything is tip top. I 100% recommend Colin as a house sitter.
 
JANICE (Tamaterau , Jul 2021 - 2 weeks)
No rating Colin looked after our home and garden very well. We returned after two weeks to a warm, clean home. We met up with Colin before our trip away to show him around and found him intelligent, friendly and sensible. We had no reservations leaving our home in his care and our trust was completely rewarded on our return.
DONNA (Ngararatunua , Jun 2017)
No rating Colin took very good care of our home and pets, really going 'the extra mile' when one of the pets got unwell. The house was clean and tidy on our return (even with fresh milk in the fridge). Colin kept in touch with us during the trip as needed. I can confidently recommend Colin as a house sitter!
GRANT (Whangarei, Apr 2014)
No rating Colin cared for our house and pets for 2 months and did a wonderful job. My wife and I would have no hesitation in recommending him to other people looking for a great house sitter.
RAY (Kamo, North Island, Mar 2014 - 2 months)
 
Free Pet Care

Happy pets!

A house sitter provides loving, full-time, home-based pet-care while you're away.

Feefo badge