Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Reptile(s)
Preferred Locations
  • North Island: Auckland, Bay of Plenty, Gisborne, Hawke's Bay, ManawatÅ«-Whanganui, Northland, Taranaki, Waikato, Wellington (Masterton, Porirua, South Wairarapa)  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Apr
    May
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
  • 2020: 25Mar-7Jul
  • On a house-sit right now

Retired Homeopath

63, Retired Homeopath

I have dual citizenship of Britain and New Zealand. I grew up in England, and my first career was as a conservator of works of art, working at the British Museum in London, and the Fitzwilliam Museum in Cambridge. I then retrained as a Homeopath and came out to New Zealand, where I lived and worked for the whole of the nineties. In 2000 I returned to England to help care for my aging parents. I am now retired, and have returned to New Zealand to live.

Over the last year I have house-sat for friends several times, and it has occurred to me that house-sitting would be an excellent way to get to know different areas of New Zealand, before I decide where I want to settle. Visiting as a tourist only gives you a superficial experience of a place, whereas house-sitting gives you a chance to really taste what it's like to live there - without breaking the bank, either! And with the bonus of staying in real homes and having the companionship of the animals who belong there.

I love animals, and they are usually drawn to me. Cats are my favourite, but I get on very well with dogs, too. One of the things I enjoy about them is that every animal is different: they each have their own personality, their likes and dislikes, and their preferred way of going about things, so it's fun getting to know them. I believe animals can sense what sort of person you are, and I think they can sense that I am kind and caring and competent, which helps them relax and feel safe with me, confident that all their needs will be met.

I was a home-owner in England, so I know how important it is for a home-owner to feel that their home is in good hands - that it is kept safe, secure, clean and well looked after; that its contents are treated with respect and care. And to know that if any problems arise, they will be dealt with promptly and appropriately. I believe that I'm respectful, well-organised and meticulous, and also a good problem-solver, so I think your home would be in good hands. Also, I love gardens and have green fingers, so your plants would be well cared-for, too. And if it would help to give you peace of mind about the wellbeing of your pets, I would be happy to keep in touch regularly by email.

What about my personal attributes? I'm a single woman without children or pets of my own; I don't drink alcohol or smoke; I'm a driver with a clean license; I'm not a party person - I enjoy solitude and peaceful surroundings and I love walking in the countryside or by the sea; although retired, I am healthy, strong and active; and I'm generally a happy person. I think your animals would feel happy in my company.

Reviews (1)
Sue is a wonderful, friendly, interesting person. She is very attentive to all aspects of pet/home sitting and very communicative. We would have Sue back to sit our farmlet and would definitely recommend her as a reliable pet sitter!
 
KARI (Warkworth North Island, Jan 2020 - 1 week)
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge