Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand

Make contact - Join for free


Silver (12mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Farm Animals
Preferred Locations
  • South Island: Canterbury, Nelson / Marlborough, Otago, West Coast  

Residential Property Manager (14 years)

61, Resigned May 2018

Hello. My name is Melva . I am 61 years of age and I do not smoke or drink and am reasonably fit as I am a great lover of the outdoors. As well as a career in Residential Property Management, I have been doing up many homes over the years and am a general DIYer.

I started house sitting in May 2018 and have just completed my tenth house minding assignment. My favourite pets to care for are dogs and rabbits.

Because of my career, I fully understand the importance of looking after your property and assets. Having said that, moreover the importance of caring for your non speaking best friends, namely your pets, is my top priority.

I have obtained a N Z Police Clearance certificate. Written references from a house minding jobs are added below. I have been a home owner for twenty eight years. It is with confidence that I know your house and pets will be cared for in your absence. You are very welcome to ask any questions.. I welcome your enquiry. Thank you. Regards. Melva .(Please scroll down to read two references).

We have just had the pleasure of having Melva Pet/house sit for us in Nelson.
Casper our rag-doll cat was more than happy with his treatment and loved having Melva as company.
While we were away we had regular updates on how things were at home and photos showing how happy he was.
On our return we found lots of goodies in our fridge which saved us having to race out again after a long trip home. The house was lovely and clean and Melva even picked us up off the plane early in the morning.
We have no hesitation in recommending Melva for any house/pet sit and hope to have her again.

Yours sincerely Julie and Ray

July 11th 2018. 37 Wallin Ave, Deception Bay, Qld

To Whom it may concern.

On behalf of my wife & myself we would like commend Melva Vanhoof on the way she cared for our pet cat "Bruno" also our birds we keep, the house a 37 Wallin Ave, Deception Bay, Qld was clean & tidy on our return from a 5 week overseas holiday.

Melva also kept the house yard & gardens tidy for our return & in addition I have been told by a neighbor she also helped with an errand that was asked of her to deliver to this neighbor living close to our home.

We wish to thank Melva for her house sit & wish her luck for all future House sits she has the chance to take in any future months & years ahead.

Sincerely Geoff Morrell & also on behalf of my wife Filomena Morrell.

Reviews (3)
Melva looked after our animals and house for a week. She did a great job and we would happily have her back. Good communications too.
ANNABEL (Upper Moutere South Island, Apr 2019 - 5 days)
We were very happy with Melva who stayed in our home and looked after a pup, cat and house with excellence.
KAREN (Hope South Island, Apr 2019 - 3 weeks)
Our pet and house sitter, Melva comes highly recommended by myself and Michael. Our two little dogs were obviously well cared for and loved as we could see by the special relationships formed when we returned home from our holiday. Melva is gentle, kind and considerate. She kept in touch with us before, and during her stay at our home which we appreciated very much. Although our travel plans got disrupted by inclement weather, Melva kept the home fires burning to give us a warm, cheerful ... MORE
MARY AND MICHAEL (Mapua , Mar 2019 - 1 week 6 days)
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge