Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
Gold (24mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Reptile(s), Farm Animals
Preferred Locations
  • North Island: ALL   South Island: ALL  
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Aug
    Sep
    Oct
    Nov
    Dec
    Jan
  • 2020: 1Jul-30Nov
  • On a house-sit right now

Reliable, retired, physically fit couple

61, Scientist

60, Wellness Consultant

Introduction
My wife (Diane) and I enjoy housesitting since we love taking care of pets, traveling and meeting new people. I (Pete) am a New Zealander who grew up on a sheep farm but as an adult lived overseas; however, we are returning to live permanently in New Zealand beginning Jan 2, 2018. We are currently traveling in Europe before returning to live in NZ permanently. Our European travels include housesits in France, Portugal and Spain. On return to NZ, we have a housesit organized in Hastings. We are looking forward to exploring additional housesitting opportunities anywhere in NZ during the remainder of 2018. We are both retired and have extensive experience taking care of both houses and a variety of pets. We pride ourselves in having the time to take loving care of pets with attention to any specific needs explained by the owners. We will happily provide house and pet updates, photos etc. during our housesits.

Our Housesitting Experience
We began housesitting in Nelson on a trip back to New Zealand in 2015/16 taking care of one dog. In France, we took care of an elderly standard poodle, a cat and a fish. In Portugal, we took care of two large dogs and a cat. In Spain, we are taking care of many indoor plants, including a roof top garden. In New Zealand we will housesit in Hastings Jan 4th to 15, taking care of 2 large dogs, 6 cats and some chooks. We have references from previous house sits, plus personal references that are a part of our profile. We also welcome phone interviews via phone or Skype.

Our Backgrounds
I am now 61 while Diane is 60. I grew up on a sheep farm in Southland, went to Southland Boys High School and completed a bachelor's in science at the University of Otago. On my OE, I spent time working at ski resorts and construction companies, and then completed graduate work at New Mexico State University. Like myself, Diane also grew up in a country setting, for her this was on a cattle ranch in Northern New Mexico. Diane and I raised two daughters while I worked for thirty years in research and development primarily at two large US companies. We traveled to New Zealand most Christmas holidays visiting family and friends and traveling around New Zealand. We wanted our daughters to be able to feel like New Zealanders. After our daughters grew older, Diane studied studio and therapeutic yoga instruction. She has also taught yoga in studios, a workplace, privately and in a hospital setting.

While our children were growing up, we cared for and loved a variety of pets including dogs, cats, a rabbit, rats, mice, chickens, budgies and a cockatiel. In addition to taking care of many pets over the years, we have owned and maintained homes and gardens for 25+ years. We both grew up on farms and are practical people who are comfortable with taking care of animals and gardens. Both of us are physically active and like to stay fit. Diane likes to garden and has created and maintained flower and veggie gardens at all of our homes.

Reviews (9)
No rating Peter and Diane looked after our home for 3 months over winter. We do not have any animals but we wanted to have our house lived in and they were asked to tend to the gardens and grounds so when we came home they were in good order and not needing our immediate attention. We came home to a very clean and tidy house, and gardens and lawns done. It was also evident that the yards, driveway area had been blown clean of leaves and the main windows where we have our view had been cleaned. ... MORE
MICHELE (Katikati North Island, Jun 2018 - 3 months)
Diane and Peter were great house sitters. They communicated with us throughout the entire 5 and a half weeks trip about how our two cats were getting along, even skyping us occasionally. They tended to our garden and kept the house clean and tidy. We would have them stay again any time. Ruby and Tristan
 
RUBY (Miramar North Island, Dec 2019 - 5 and a half weeks)
Thanks Ruby and Tristin for your kind review. We really loved taking care of your place, garden and Maui and Bean. It was fun keeping in contact with you while you traveled. We look forward to housesitting again sometime. Cheers, Diane and Peter
No rating Diane & Peter, Thank you both for doing such a great job in looking after our tricky little dog and our home, Ziggy seemed very happy when we returned, I would highly recommend Diane & Peter to any future house sits, they are lovely warm couple that take great care of your pets/home.
LINDA (puhoi North Island, Jun 2018 - 1 week 1 day)
No rating Peter and Diane where great house sitters. Peter loved having my little inside dog sleeping with him. Not that we do this but it must have been awesome feeling while we where away for our 8 month old little dog. Also our lab which only stays outside was well cared for, not too much food as labs get fat and are greedy and she looked perfect after a month away, We once had her at a pet lodge and she was so fat when we picked her up... not good for her health. Thanks guys for evrrything you ... MORE
WINIFRED (Welcome Bay North Island, Apr 2018 - 4 weeks)
No rating Diane and Peter looked after our home and animals for the week away. They proved to be a good choice and we came back to contented dogs and a tidy home. Many thanks to them :)
KAREN AND DENIS (Waikanae Beach , Apr 2018)
No rating I have no hesitation in recommending Diane & Peter to sit your home and take care of your animals . I returned to a very clean home and very happy and well taken care of animals . A very capable trustworthy couple.
SANDRA (Parekura Bay, Russell North Island, Apr 2018 - 1 week 3 days)
No rating Peter & Dianne recently looked after my home, Labrador dog & cat. They took great care of everything, it was wonderful to return to a tidy home ,well looked after pets & freshly mowed lawns :-D Communication was excellent . I wouldn't hesitate to have them back & highly recommend them . Once agAin Thankyou so much:-D
JULIE (Maketu North Island, Mar 2018 - 1 week 3 days)
No rating Peter and Diane are the perfect housesitters. They kept in contact before and during sending us photos of our pets while we were away. The house was immaculate and animals well cared for. We would have absolutely no hesitation in recommending them and would love to have them back in the future.
KARLENA (Taupiri North Island, Jan 2018 - 1 week 1 day)
No rating Thanks to Peter and Dianne for looking after my animal friends so well and it was so nice arriving home to a clean house and happy household would love them to return anytime
ANNA (Ngaruawahia North Island, Jan 2018 - 5 days)
 
Peace of Mind

Happy you!

With a house sitter looking after your pets, house and garden - you can really relax. Happy days.

Feefo badge