Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well - READ MORE

Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
House Sitting Preferences
  • 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in New Zealand
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Oct
    Nov
    Dec
    Jan
    Feb
    Mar
  • 2020: 14Oct-12Nov

Linda G

46, Freelance translator and editor

Veteran home/pet carer, happily marooned in NZ!
(Scroll down to the end for excerpts from my reviews on other house-sitting sites, as I am fairly new to this one:)

Originally from the UK, I've been in NZ since mid Feb and ended up extending my stay due to the ongoing global meltdown.. and I truly can't think of anywhere on the planet I'd rather be than this amazing country! Having sat out the lockdown in Fiordland, I have since been alternating travel with periods of house/pet sitting and voluntary work, alongside my regular freelance work (translation and editing).

I find house sitting a great way to base myself in one place and get to know the local area, and having four-legged company is definitely the biggest attraction of the job for me, being a lifelong animal lover who in recent years has moved around too much to keep her own pet. Please rest assured that I will care for your home and pets as if they were my own.

I have plenty of experience of house/pet sitting, as well as caring for clients' homes and pets while working as a live-in carer for elderly people around the UK, a job I did for five years. Getting to know different parts of the country was one of the many enjoyable aspects of this job, as was looking after furry friends, so when I switched to a digital nomad lifestyle in 2018, house sitting seemed like an ideal way to keep up these interests. Since then I have done a number of house sits in the UK and around Europe. (Review excerpts below - full references available on request.)

I'm a quiet and easy going type with little need for entertainment - an evening in with pets is definitely more my idea of fun than a night out on the tiles. I enjoy walking, qigong, reading and cooking. I am honest and reliable, and keep a clean home. Happy to help with light gardening as well.

Apologies for the dearth of profile photos - I am a bit of a camera dodger and despite having cuddled up with numerous cats and dogs over the years, I can only find one bit of photographic evidence!

Please note that I have severe hearing loss (currently awaiting cochlear implant surgery) and don't manage well on the phone, so I prefer to use WhatsApp or email to stay in touch. (Can also do Skype video call to get acquainted before the sit if you wish.)

Looking forward to meeting you and your pets!

EXCERPTS FROM REVIEWS:

"Linda was a great house and pet sitter. She looked after our property and car as if they were her own and the cats loved her. We returned to a clean and tidy house and happy pets. We would happily have her sit for us again."
Sian & Ian, Faial, Azores (mindmyhouse.com)

"I immediately had total confidence in Linda. She knew very well how to take care of my two cats. The apartment was spotless when I returned. I hope to welcome her again next time and I highly recommend her."
Olivia, Paris (nomador.com)

"We cannot recommend Linda highly enough as a house sitter. She looked after our house very well and was helpful, friendly, cooperative and totally trustworthy throughout. You could not want for a better or more helpful housesitter."
Gill & Dave, Bristol (privately arranged)

Reviews (2)
Linda was a great house and pet sitter! We left her with our cat and inside rabbit for a week and returned to a lovely warm, tidy home and a nice meal along with very content pets. Great communication while we were away through texts. Also very good and easy communication from first contact through to her arrival at our home. Linda was a perfect fit for what we needed and she was able to explore a little of our area while here too. 100% recommend her to mind your home and pets. Thanks ... MORE
 
ROBYN (Haast South Island, Jul 2020)
Linda was a fairy godmother for us and immediately upon communicating with her we knew she was a person of integrity and the perfect person to look after our place. She showed amazing initiative, kept in touch with us and has a great sense of humour. The house and animals were all well cared for, and she tackled parts of our garden with enthusiasm. We really appreciated coming home to freshly baked muffins too. Highly, highly recommend - you can be sure your house and animals will be well ... MORE
 
JENNY (Takaka South Island, Jul 2020 - 3 weeks)
 
Free Pet Care

Happy pets!

A house sitter provides loving, full-time, home-based pet-care while you're away.

Feefo badge