Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


 
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in New Zealand
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Oct
    Nov
    Dec
    Jan
    Feb
    Mar
  • 2019: 25Sep-14Oct | 15Oct-3Dec | 13Dec-16Jan2020 2019: 4Dec-12Dec

Full Time Professional Caretakers

52, Coach / Copy Writer

53, Business Development

G'day! We are a semi retired couple who finds the greatest joy in helping others to take a break. We have been house sitting in Otago, South Island from March 2018 to July 2019 because we love this place!
We are Dutch Aussies and call Australia home, although we're not so sure now as we got the Kiwi bug ;-)! Please check our calendar first as we are booked long in advance.

By the end of 2019 we will have done 18 house sits across several house sit platforms. Please see the attachment with our outstanding reviews. One owner has asked us back 4 times! We have also managed accommodation properties for the owners and are no strangers to large acreage.

Long-term sits are our speciality from 1 month to as long as 10 months so far caring for pets, veggie patches and gardens. It must be in our blood as Erwin's parents already did sits in the 70-ies. Pets cared for so far: small, medium, large including older dogs on medication, cats, chooks, ducks, horses, cows and a calf. On our animal wish list are still alpacas among others!

We love the outdoors, wildlife, sustainable living and communities who welcome our heart, head and hands. We make our sit location our home and enjoy being with pets while relaxing, reading or writing.

We like to learn by doing and can contribute in and around the house and garden and offer our business skills as well. We have lived in urban and regional areas and are well traveled and fit (non-smoking vegetarians - happy to feed pets meat if required). Your pets will receive lots of attention, exercise and cuddles as needed.

Cannot live without: laughter, healthy food, music, books, salty licorice, discussions about life, personal growth, helmet-free bike riding, living near water and colours!

Our interests and experience include: pet care, painting, restoring woodwork, permaculture (theory), photography, gardening, cooking, hospitality, energy healing, life and career coaching, first aid, training, marketing and copy writing.

We have worked in management roles in business development, not-for-profit, publishing and hospitality/convention industries.

For our Australian jobs we had to obtain a police check in 2014 and 2015 and all was clear (copies available on request). We are responsible drivers and most home owners have trusted us using their car if available.

Have lived and worked in Amsterdam, Canberra, Bungendore and Sydney so far and house sat across 4 continents.

May we give you a no worries break next? We will be stoked :-)!

Reviews (1)
Marianne and Erwin are awesome people and sitters. They loved our animals and our animals loved them. Our home was fantastic to return to and they had prepared a delicious lunch which was so very welcome after long flights. We would love for them to return in the future-can't thank them enough. Would thoroughly recommend them both to look after your home and pets .
 
SHIRLEY AND ALAN (Waipawa , Jun 2019 - 4 weeks)
Thank you so much Shirley and Alan for your great hospitality. We loved our sit and it was a joy to keep the animals happy and healthy. Until next time!
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge