Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE


LIMITED CONTACT:
This member has indicated they may be unable to respond to all messages promptly.

 
Gold (24mths)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks, 1 - 2 months, 2 months +
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Fish, Bird(s), Rabbit(s)/Guinea Pig(s), Chickens/Ducks/Geese, Reptile(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s), None
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in New Zealand
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Sep
    Oct
    Nov
    Dec
    Jan
    Feb
  • 2021: 23Dec-6Jan2022

Caterina & Shai

Scientist

Scientist

> About us:

Caterina is from Germany and Shai is from Australia. We fell in love in Australia and have never looked back. We have a deep appreciation of the natural world, the environment and its conservation. We share a passion for travelling and are on a constant quest for knowledge. This is what drove us both to become scientists - Caterina a (general) biologist and Shai a molecular biologist.
We are reliable and caring. Non-smoking.

> Why we want to house sit

We love animals. Caterina specialised in hydrobiology, marine biology and zoology and Shai worked at a veterinary school and has finished his PhD. We both grew up with pets (dog, cats, guinea pigs, hamsters, mice, fish, axolotls, birds,... ) and miss having them in our lives. As biologists, however, we are constantly on the move and don't want to cause distress to our companions. Therefore, we see housesitting as a perfect way to meet new furry friends and at the same time combine it with our love of travel and discovering new places. We moved from Europe to Wellington in April 2019.

Among many housesits, our most memorable experience was looking after 2 dogs, 3 cats, 1 rabbit, 6 chickens and 2 ducks in the French Pyrenees. The combination of the friendly animals, the fresh air and the local food, made the sit an experience we will never forget.

> Our experience

We have previously looked after cats, dogs, chickens, ducks, turkeys, horses, sheep, goats, and fish in various countries (Canada, Australia, all over Europe). In Australia we were especially active in looking after animals (since 2011). One year we took on 5-6 house sits, with each assignment of varying length (1 week - 2 months and once even for 1 year). These assignments involved feeding, walking, grooming and playing with the animals as well as garden maintenance and house duties. Caterina also does dog training if time allows and at the request of home owners.

We love being outdoors and we both have a green thumb. We have mowed grass, cut hedges, pulled out weeds and watered plants. We have great responsibility and show initiative.

We look forward to caring for your animals and home!

Reviews (2)
Lovely couple with lil finlay Despite a laundry mishap and not being able to contact us as dont use whats app they coped well with getting it all sorted with the help off our emergency contacts House left pretty much how i left it Thanks for the housesit guys
 
MARG (RD2 North Island, Jan 2021 - 4 days)
We interviewed a huge amount of people and knew instantly that they would be the best people to look after our home, cat Findus and 3 chickens in York Bay. We where in Los Angeles. & they contacted us regularly and kept us up to date on the everything. We kept in contact with them via WhatsApp and they were very open to using whatever communication method we preferred. We loved that they had a young boy as we do too and it was great to share our home with another family. Finley was ... MORE
 
DOROTKA (York Bay North Island, Jan 2020 - 2 weeks)
 
Free Pet Care

Happy pets!

A house sitter provides loving, full-time, home-based pet-care while you're away.

Feefo badge