Hide COVID19 Information - Stay safe and well

Kiwi House Sitters

The largest pet & house sitting site in New Zealand
 
 
Close

Make contact - Join for free

OR LOGIN - CLICK HERE

 
Platinum (36mths+)
House Sitting Preferences
  • 0 - 1 week, 1 - 2 weeks, 2 - 4 weeks
  • Dog(s), Cat(s), Bird(s), Farm Animals, Horse(s)
Preferred Locations
  • Anywhere in New Zealand
Availability
  • NEXT 6 MONTHS    
    Available    
    Unavailable
    Jun
    Jul
    Aug
    Sep
    Oct
    Nov
  • 2022: 30Dec-5Jan2023 2022: 20Jun-30Nov

Canuck Couple

56, Public Servant (active) and Army Officer (retired)

54, Canadian Coast Guard/Nurse

Bonjour! (that's Canadian for Kia Ora)

We're Dave and Theresa McGuire. We're a professional couple: I'm a retired Canadian Army Engineer Officer now working for government and Theresa is a Canadian Coast Guard nurse. We currently live on Canada's East Coast, but spent an incredible year living and working in beautiful Blenheim, in the Marlborough District (2019-2020). We are eager to return for another stay in NZ once conditions permit.

We're looking for opportunities to continue to learn about this beautiful country in a way outside of the traditional tourist experience. House sitting is an amazing way to get to do that.

We are definitely animal lovers. We both grew up with pets, and they have been a part of our household since we were married. At our busiest we lived with two dogs, four cats, two birds, and (don't want to forget them) two children. Before relocating the brood sat at one dog (a Curly Coated Retriever), one cat (a rescue), and no kids (voluntarily moved out). We're now frequently sitting for our kids, who also have their own pet menageries. Theresa raised and tamed an abandoned pigeon youngling, "Henry", who traveled with her to the Canadian Arctic and back.

During our time in New Zealand in in 2019-2020 we were lucky enough to enjoy four different housesitting adventures. We hope to enjoy more in the future.

We are both non-smokers. We own our own home in Canada, so we can definitely appreciate the desire to take care of a house. We're both active and would expect that house and pet sitting would involve a lot of walks and other forms of exercise.

Theresa is an avid, passionate gardener, and I am very good at doing what I'm told to do. Together we make a good team and can care for anything that doesn't involve heavy farm machinery.

We want to be able to offer you peace of mind while you're away on your own travels.

We hope to hear from you. Thanks for considering us :)

D&T

Reviews (4)
We had the pleasure of Theresa and David house sit for us for 2 weeks over the Christmas period. Our wee dogs were well loved and looked after as well as the 2 horses and all the Alpacas. They Text us everyday with an update on how it was all going and sent lots of pictures too. The house was clean and tidy on our return. We highly recommend them and wouldn't hesitate to have them again should the time arise. Louise and Michael.
 
LOUISE (Rangiora South Island, Dec 2019 - 2 weeks)
A wonderful, friendly and interesting couple who really went beyond my expectations to care for both the home and doggies. I was so happy to have Theresa and Dave stay. The dogs were extremely fond of them. They had new toys gifted to them as well as twice daily walks. The days following their departure, the dogs kept walking into the area they had stayed in to look for them (very cute:-)). I highly recommend Dave & Theresa to house sit for you. It was a pleasure to meet them
 
DEBORAH (Birkenhead, Auckland , Apr 2019 - 1 week 3 days)
OMG what beautiful people, didn't want them to leave. They even cooked us tea on their last night, our animals just loved them and were so content and happy. Would have them back in an instant. Thanks Dave and Theresa for doing the perfect job.
 
BEAR AND LEN (Whitianga North Island, Apr 2019 - 3 days)
David and Theresa are great house sitters, and I highly recommended them to take care of your home and pets. Our cats were relaxed with Dave and Theresa and Lucy lapped up all the attention that came her way. Laundry was done and house in tip top shape when we returned.
 
JO (Northcote , Mar 2019)
 
Garden Maintenance

Green garden!

Make sure the garden and pot plants are thriving when you get back - get a house sitter.

Feefo badge